There was an error in this gadget

Sunday, May 1, 2016

Movie Review: The Jungle Book

For the final week of movie reviews, I will be discussing The Jungle Book. I absolutely love all movies under Walt Disney Productions, and I was overjoyed to find that they were remaking this movie. The Jungle Book is a classic and is a heartwarming story. I think it was neat to produce this film because not only can parents relate to this movie because they grew up with this story, but it also still generates suspense and wonder for children of today. All ages are able to enjoy and relate to the 2016 version of The Jungle Book. Not to mention, this film was extremely beautiful due to the location of the filming (mainly Los Angeles) and all of the amazing visual effects. According to the Rotten Tomatoes Website, The Jungle Book has currently made $192.2 million in box office sales, and ninety-two percent of the 49,591 voters claimed they liked the movie. Luckily, I did see the first one so I was able to compare the two, and usually a remake is not the best, but I definitely believe they excelled in the modernizing and remaking of this film. I would recommend The Jungle Book because I truly enjoyed it, and I thought that the cast did a great job of performing. This movie is only rated PG so it is perfect for the whole family on a free afternoon. From being visually appealing and captivating to telling a heartening story, this is one you will not want to miss. Thank you for always tuning in, and I hope you enjoyed the weekly movie reviews!

The Jungle Book Movie Trailer



Sunday, April 24, 2016

Movie Review: Batman vs. Superman: Dawn of Justice

This week's movie review is Batman vs. Superman: Dawn of Justice. Overall, I really enjoyed this movie because it was filled with action and is a classic because it is the first film with both Batman and Superman. Batman is my favorite superhero so this was a must-see movie! However, it did leave me with some questions at the end because it was not very explanatory. I think that the ending definitely hints at a second Batman vs. Superman. According to the Rotten Tomatoes website, sixty-eight percent of the 201,894 viewers liked it, and it is ranked in the top box office sales at $9.0 million. While Ben Affleck, Henry Cavill, and the rest of the actors did perform strongly, I thought that the plot was a bit weak. At two and a half hours long, it began to drag on and became boring while the future events were very predictable. However, I would recommend this movie because DC Entertainment did try out a new concept and while it may not have been as successful as hoped, I believe they can really build off of this creative idea. It is rated PG-13 for action and violence throughout, but if you have a free afternoon with limited plans, don't miss out on the new superhero trend. Thanks for tuning in and come back next week for another movie review surprise!

Batman vs. Superman: Dawn of Justice Movie Trailer


Sunday, April 17, 2016

Movie Review: Secrets in their Eyes

This week's movie review is Secret in their Eyes. I am usually very intrigued by movies that are trying to solve a case so I thought I would enjoy this one since it was based off of a murder mystery. While the storyline presented dramatic ideas, I believe that the movie was very predictable and uninspiring. The acting was poor which was shocking because Secret in their Eyes included a great cast such as Julia Roberts and Nicole Kidman. Their performances were just boring which made the movie very predictable. Also, this is a remake so it was difficult not to compare it to the original. It is hard to reproduce a movie because the first one is usually the best, even without modern technology. According to the Rotten Tomatoes Website, only forty-four percent of the 11,923 viewers enjoyed the film. Overall, I was disappointed in the movie because I had high expectations. It is rated PG-13 for violent content, language, and some crude references. I would not recommend Secret in their Eyes because it is not exciting and does not capture one's attention. Stay tuned for next week's surprise movie review!

Secret in their Eyes Movie Trailer


Sunday, April 10, 2016

Movie Review: Home Alone

Thanks for tuning in for this week's movie review of Home Alone. Over spring break, I was able to watch two or three movies so I decided to watch my favorite feature for about the one-hundredth time! My entire childhood revolved around the Home Alone movies, and I believe that every child should watch each film in the series at least once. While viewing Home Alone, I realized that it is just full of innocent humor and action. It is so enjoyable because any age can watch this movie without being bored or annoyed. The characters in the film do a great job, and it truly gets a family in the holiday spirit! According to the Rotten Tomatoes Website, seventy-nine percent of the 1,024,289 viewers claimed they liked it. I did not realize that Home Alone was actually released in 1990, but this date just makes the film even more of a classic. I would definitely recommend this movie because it will always be one of my favorite childhood memories. It is rated PG and does contain some comic action and mild language. Next time you are looking for a relaxing movie to rent, don't forget Home Alone. Who knows, maybe they will create a remake of the original one day! Come back next week for another movie review!

Home Alone Movie Trailer


Sunday, April 3, 2016

Movie Review: Concussion

This week's movie review is Concussion. I have never been a fan of football because I have always realized how dangerous this sport can be, and Concussion confirmed my worries. This movie was very eye-opening because it truly displayed how harmful hitting one's head is. Not only was Concussion quite sorrowful at moments, but it was also inspirational to see that a doctor would stick to his word and continue his experiments while he was threatened by many. In America, the NFL is a very popular subject because football is taken very seriously. With this movie being based on a true story, it was heartbreaking to observe that real men risk their lives playing football without always knowing the consequences. In addition to this fact, it was even worse to realize that the NFL would not tell the truth about the dangers simply because they were worried about losing the company. According to the Rotten Tomatoes Website, seventy-six percent of the 28,525 viewers claimed they liked it. Overall, I did enjoy this movie, and I would recommend it. Concussion is rated PG-13 for language and disturbing images, but I do believe that it is a necessary movie to watch for those who actually engage in the sport. I do not believe that football should be ended, but Concussion shows that more safety precautions should be taken. Stay tuned for next week's movie review!

Concussion Movie Trailer


Sunday, March 20, 2016

Movie Review: Room

This past weekend, my mother and I watched the movie Room. Overall, I truly enjoyed the film, and I believe that it was the best movie that I have seen in a long time. It was very capturing and emotional because I sadly know that there are many people in the world that are held captive similar to the characters in Room. This movie showed the importance of maternal love, and I became a little more thankful for my life and my bond with my mother. According to the Rotten Tomatoes website, ninety-four percent of the 39,843 viewers claimed they liked the film. It is rated R for language, but it should be for mature audiences only because the movie is heart-breaking. Jacob Tremblay and Brie Larson did an outstanding job as a duo, and I would be interested to see more of their works. My only complaint is that the second half of the movie is quite slow, and it almost leaves the viewer hanging on the aspect of the captor. However, I would definitely recommend this film because it is very inspirational and it opened my eyes. The movie also won the Academy Award for Best Actress, and it was nominated for the Academy Award for Best Picture. Tune in next time for the movie review of Sisters.

Room Movie Trailer


Sunday, March 13, 2016

Movie Review: Schindler's List

This week's movie review is Schindler's List. In my history class, we will begin viewing this movie in order to learn more about the Holocaust and the Nazis. However, I have already watched this film. I believe that Schindler's List is an eye-opening movie that makes a person think twice about their life. Not only did I feel very emotional while watching the film, but I also gained much knowledge about the Holocaust. I am inspired that my class will have the opportunity to view this movie because it is very educational, and I believe that my classmates will become more aware of how victims were treated during this horrific time. According to the Rotten Tomatoes website, ninety-seven percent of the 407,638 viewers liked it (which is truly amazing!). The fact that this film is based off of a true story makes this movie that much more realistic and intriguing. Even though it can be difficult to watch at times, this movie is most definitely a classic. I am always inspired to learn more about the Holocaust. I enjoyed this movie because it kept my attention continually, and I felt as though I became more educated on the event as well as the victims. Schindler's List did show the evil in Germany, but it also displayed that there are good people left in the world. Even at such critical times, a man was risking his life in order to save numerous other lives. I would definitely recommend this movie because the passion and dedication is undeniable. Stay tuned next week for another movie review!

Schindler's List Movie Trailer


Sunday, March 6, 2016

Movie Review: Creed

I watched Creed this past weekend, and I truly enjoyed it. I have seen all of the Rocky Balboa movies so I knew that this movie was going to be entertaining! Michael B. Jordan did an outstanding job, and Sylvester Stallone did not disappoint (even though he has really aged!). Overall, this film had a great story, and it is definitely one of my favorites of the series! According to the Rotten Tomatoes Website, ninety-one percent of the 66,025 voters liked Creed. The website also showed that the movie made $109.7 million in box office sales. I loved how they still added Rocky to the story line, but put a more modern twist on the movie. I would definitely recommend this film because I was never bored, and it really is an inspiration to underdogs. To enjoy this movie, one does not have to be a fan of boxing because it has such a strong impact no matter what. This film is rated PG-13 due to some violence and language, but that is acceptable since it is a dramatic movie. Do not miss out on this one because it is a must-see! Stay tuned for next week!

Creed Movie Trailer


Monday, February 29, 2016

Movie Review: Zoolander 2

This week's movie review is Zoolander 2. Overall, I found it to be pretty hysterical. I did not see the first Zoolander movie, but I was still able to catch up and stay in tune with the plot. Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson always work great together, and I really enjoy watching them on the screen. Adding Will Ferrell to the mix was perfect because he is nuts and truly took the comedy to a new level. Of course, the movie was absolutely ridiculous (not surprising!). However, the most foolish films are sometimes the best kind to watch. Not only did Zoolander 2 help me to de-stress, but it also let me just laugh and enjoy myself. According to the Rotten Tomatoes Website, only 29% of the 37,591 viewers claimed they liked it. Also, the website noted that Zoolander 2 has made $27.4 million in box office sales. These numbers are not great, but what did the people expect? With a cast like this movie had, one has to know that it is going to be a bizarre show. Even so, I would recommend this film because I did find it to be amusing and relaxing. Stay tuned for next week's movie review surprise!

Zoolander 2 Movie Trailer


Tuesday, February 23, 2016

Movie Review: Cinderella

Even though Cinderella was released over a year ago, I would still like to review it because it is one of my all-time favorite movies! Not only is this film absolutely adorable, but it is also very enchanting. I was never bored while watching Cinderella because it was full of action and adventure. I loved how they retold the traditional story, but put more of a modern twist on it. According to the Rotten Tomatoes Website, seventy-eight percent of the 75,089 viewers liked it. Also, the website claims that Cinderella received $201.1 million in box office sales. Not only does this girly movie keep the touch of magic alive, but it also pertains to all ages. At sixteen years old, I enjoyed every minute of the film and I have watched it two more times after my first viewing. My mother was even fond of the movie! Cinderella is definitely a family-friendly film that will keep the whole clan entertained for almost two hours. This movie is a must-see because it brings back the princess whose story has not been told for awhile. Cinderella will not be a disappointment! Once again, next week will be a movie review surprise so do not miss it!

Cinderella Movie Trailer



Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Movie Review: Deadpool

This weekend I watched the movie Deadpool. This film was not your typical superhero movie; however, I did still enjoy it to an extent. I found it to be pretty funny and entertaining in certain areas. However, Deadpool is a true R-Rated movie as it contains many inappropriate jokes and scenes. I am really not a fan of obscene movies so I believe that they could have made the film a little more appropriate. Families with children probably went to view the movie believing it was just a superhero film, but were in a for surprise...According to the Rotten Tomatoes Website, ninety-five percent of the 115, 750 users liked it. The movie also made $135 million in box office sales. Overall, I do not think I would recommend this movie. I did find some portions of the film to be enjoyable, but as a whole, it truly did not satisfy me. I am more of a fan of true superhero movies, but at least Marvel attempted to try something new...Stay tuned for next week for a movie review surprise!


Deadpool Movie Trailer




Tuesday, February 9, 2016

Movie Review: 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi

Two weeks ago, I watched the movie 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi. This film was absolutely outstanding, and I could not recommend a better movie to view. I watched this movie on the edge of my seat the entire time while cringing at the terrible situations American soldiers must endure. Not only did this film open my eyes to the horrors of war, but I also developed even more respect for those fighting for our country. 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi is based on a true story, and is filmed beautifully. One feels as though they are actually in the movie because the scenes seem very real. According to the Rotten Tomatoes Website, eighty-seven percent of the 22,361 viewers claimed they liked it. This movie received $47.7 million in box office sales. Even though the film is rated R due to the violence and language, I believe every American adult should view this movie. The story is undeniable, and it truly reflects the courage and heroism that soldiers of the United States bear. I really did enjoy this movie and I definitely recommend it because it will not disappoint its viewers. Come back next week for a surprise movie review!

13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi Movie Trailer


Monday, February 1, 2016

Movie Review: Ride Along 2

I watched Ride Along 2 this past weekend, and I truly enjoyed it. As always, Kevin Hart and Ice Cube were hysterical together, and I thought that they did a great job overall. However, I have to say that I am more fond of the first movie in the series because I did think that it was funnier. It is always hard though to top off the first movie, and I honestly cannot think of a time where a second or third movie in a series is better than the original film. I would definitely still recommend this movie though because it does deliver a good laugh and the story is very amusing. According to the Rotten Tomatoes website, fifty-seven percent out of 23,973 reviewers declared that they liked Ride Along 2. I also was not surprised that the reviews were not very supportive of the movie because most people probably were disappointed with the same strained jokes and virtually the same story line. However, I am a huge fan of Kevin Hart, and I laugh at anything he does or says. Therefore, I found the movie to be very entertaining because I do enjoy his acting style. Lastly, it is a pretty family-friendly movie. There is some violent and inappropriate scenes, but should be suitable for most children eleven and up. I hope this was helpful if you are considering watching Ride Along 2. Stay tuned for next week as I will be reviewing 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi.

Ride Along 2 Movie Trailer


Monday, January 25, 2016

Movie Review: The Martian

This week I am going to throw it back a little bit and review The Martian. It was released October 2 of 2015, but I just recently viewed the film last weekend. After hearing great reviews of the movie, I decided to give it a try because I do enjoy watching Matt Damon. Even though it was very realistic and I loved the story, I was not entirely impressed by the movie. I thought it was very slow and I am honestly not a fan of space movies. However, Damon did a great job and really played his character well. According to the Rotten Tomatoes website, ninety-two percent of the 113,946 reviewers claimed they liked The Martian. Also, it scored $227.6 million dollars in the box office. If you do enjoy movies that are based on the solar system, then you would probably want to rent this scientific-fiction film. Ridley Scott, the director, did add in some quirky jokes and he truly takes you to Mars in this realistic account. Stay tuned for next week as it will be another movie review surprise!

The Martian Movie Trailer

Tuesday, January 19, 2016

Movie Review: The Revenant

A movie that is longer than two hours is usually classified as a snore. However, The Revenant disregarded this thought and kept the viewers' attention until the very end. Starring Leonardo DiCaprio as the main character, this movie did not miss a beat. The Revenant was very gruesome and brutal, and made the scenes very realistic (which I liked). There were times where I felt so heartbroken and then the next moment, I could not even look at the screen because it was so gory. It is definitely not a family-friendly film, but I would recommend it to those who enjoy action and drama, and of course, Leonardo DiCaprio. According to the Rotten Tomatoes website, eighty-seven percent of the 58, 735 voters liked it. Also, the website concluded that The Revenant received $87.7 million dollars in admission. One of my favorite factors of this movie is how the story was inspired by true events and shows the true love that a father has for his son. DiCaprio did an incredible job and I truly hope that he will finally receive an Oscar for his work. In closing, you pretty much have to see this movie because it will change you...Stay tuned next week for a movie mystery!

The Revenant Movie Trailer



Monday, January 11, 2016

Movie Review: The Visit

After recently watching The Visit this past weekend, I was actually quite disturbed. The story of the film was pretty clever and I really enjoyed the plot twist. Also, I did find it neat how the entire movie was based off of the idea that it was a vacation documentary. However, the movie itself was bizarre and there were specific scenes where I was debating whether or not to turn away because it was just so weird. I felt as though the movie itself questioned whether it was a horror film or a comedy. There were scenes where I was truly scared and others where the script was just attempting to be funny. I really did not think that these two movie characteristics ran well together... According to the Rotten Tomatoes website, fifty-five percent out of the 29, 221 voters claimed they liked it. If you enjoy odd and kooky movies, then this is the movie for you. In my opinion, this film was not one of Shyamalan's best works especially when compared to The Sixth Sense. If you are thinking about renting for younger viewers, it is not too inappropriate, but there is some nudity.  Don't miss out on next week's movie review of The Revenant.
The Visit's Movie Trailer


Thursday, January 7, 2016

Movie Review: Daddy's Home


Starring Will Ferrell as Brad, the step-dad to the children of Mark Wahlberg's character Dusty, Daddy's Home is full of hilarious battles of who can come out on top as the number one dad. In my opinion, one cannot go wrong with a Will Ferrell movie because he holds nothing back which leads to continuous laughter. Adding Wahlberg was genius because he is a beloved actor and can act in a serious movie or a comedy. The message of the film was very relatable because in most step-families, there is competition between the biological parents and those who come in as step-parents. However, due to the fact that it is rated PG-13, there was quite a bit of crudity that was not needed. Not all parents may be comfortable with allowing their children to watch the movie because there is material that is not appropriate for younger viewers such as the language and specific scenes. All characters in the film were well developed including the children as well as the adults. According to the Rotten Tomatoes website, sixty-one percent of 23, 795 viewers claimed they liked it. The website also provided that Daddy's Home raked in 29.2 million dollars which does not even compare to the whopping 90.2 million dollars that Star Wars: Episode VII - The Force Awakens accumulated.  Overall, I would recommend this movie because I really enjoyed the story and I laughed the entire time. Stay tuned for next week as I will be reviewing the movie The Visit.

Daddy's Home Movie Trailer